Find us

Film Finance Awards 2012 Is The First Of Its Type

Written by Alexander Tucker   // 07/27/2012

Film Finance Awards 2012Film Finance Awards 2012 Is The First Of Its Type

Forrest Equity Management has announced that it will sponsor the first Film Finance Awards to take place on 5 December, 2012. The awards, to honour the best in film finance around the world, will take place in the Polish capital city of Warsaw.

The organisers intend for the awards to become an annual fixture in the calendar of film events, to recognise people and organisations that are responsible for raising and providing film finance and the companies whose job it is to market and sell the films to a global market.

The awards organiser, Craig Smith, said that ‘word-of-mouth’ reaction to the Film Finance Awards has been building steadily and created quite a buzz. “Every day, I receive a stream of emails from people who are interested to learn more about the awards and wish to take part. Recently, Fashion Television contacted me to say they are supporting the event and others are coming forward with sponsorship”.

The awards will be presented at a ceremonial dinner for nominees and recipients at the InterContinental Hotel in the centre of Warsaw. Eight categories of awards will be presented at the gala event; the full list appears below.

Speaking on behalf of the sponsors, Leslie Sheldon, one of the directors of Forrest Motion Pictures, said the idea for the event came from personal experience, observing the effort that goes into funding independent films from a patchwork of sources that are barely, if ever recognised.

Forrest Equity Management, Chairman, Donal Bailey, said: “The awards shall mark out and honour individuals, film boards, financial institutions, government agencies and others who are critical to the production of films”. Speaking as an Executive Producer, Bailey went on to make reference to Executive Producers, who are excluded from the list of recipients who parade to the stage of the Oscars to collect their statue.

The organisers have set the first annual Film Finance Awards in Warsaw but it may travel to other cities in future years, including the home of films, Hollywood. A pre-awards event will take place in Beverly Hills, but it will be finalizing the year with the Film Finance Awards in Warsaw, Poland (December 2012)

The Full List Of Film Finance Awards Categories Is Listed Below:

• Distribution Company of the year,

• Executive Producer of the year,

• Film Board of the year,

• Festivals of the year,

• Finance Company of the year,

• Film Sales Company of the year,

• Tax Credit Regions of the year.

• Lifetime Achievement in film finance

For more information on Film Finance Awards, visit



Similar posts